tom Malone Prize

The Tom Malone Prize was initiated in 2003 by Benefactor of the Foundation of the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Elizabeth Malone.

It is an Acquisitive Prize intended to promote the creation, appreciation and enjoyment of glass made in Australia.

The Prize has been increased from $10,000 to $12,000. This is awarded to the winning artist, while their winning work becomes part of the State Art Collection at the Art Gallery of Western Australia.

Tom Malone Prize 2003 –2012 & Translucence: contemporary glass

2012 marks a decade of the Tom Malone Prize. This acquisitive award for Australian glass artists has been the platform for the Gallery to collect some of the best work being made in the country today. Past winners are Nick Mount (2003), Jessica Loughlin (2004 and 2007), Clare Belfrage (2005 and 2011), Benjamin Sewell (2006), Kevin Gordon (2008), Cobi Cockburn (2009), Charles Butcher (2009), and Deirdre Feeney (2010).

The combined exhibitions featured work by 2012’s shortlisted makers, all past winners and a selection of glass works from the State Art Collection. Works were selected to bring to view objects which have been recently purchased, and those works that precede and parallel the works of the Tom Malone Prize acquisitions. With a wide variety of approaches to making - from kiln-forming, to dazzling hot glass blowing, to pâte de verre to work incorporating video.


2012 Winner

Winner of the Tom Malone Prize 2012

Brian Corr
Ensō 2011
waterjet cut, cold worked and constructed flat and kiln-formed glass

79.8 x 79.4 x 16.7 cm
Photograph courtesy of Rob little

See also






Last reviewed 13 December 2012

Back to top